Stretching The Writing Muscles

I’ve been doing, just as the title of this post suggests, and stretching the writing muscles for the past few nights. I’m writing fan fiction at the moment and decidedly not anything I am prepared to share with the world at large.

Fan fiction is a bit of a grey area for me. I find it fun to write about my favourite characters from various TV shows etc, and yet, there is that kind of guilty little nag in the back of my mind in re to plagiarism. I guess this is why I tend to add a lot of my own characters into my stories and occasionally–as is the case with Jack and Casey, in fact–they take on lives of their own and make it into a published novel.

I have always said that I cut my teeth on slash fan fiction and I don’t see any reason to hide that fact. I learned a lot about writing, characterization and world building through writing fan fiction and also from role play gaming. I can think of worse ways for a budding author to hone his or her skills.

Anyway, all of that to say that it feels good to be writing again, and I think that before long, the constraints of fan fiction will pall for me and I will get busy with something new for my reader/s.

Hopefully that is not in the too far distant future!

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in blogging, books, m/m, Meg Leigh, touching base, Writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

