Book: The Path Not Chosen

7027785_origBlurb: Paige Harlow has her sights set firmly on her new college career and someday a medical degree, but university life turns out to be a shock for a quiet girl from a small farm town. And to make matters worse, the friendship with her ravishing, mischievous and mysterious roommate Alyssa Torres develops into feelings she can’t explain. How will Paige come to terms with her Christian background and the straight woman she’s fallen in love with to find her path to fairytale happiness?

 

 

My thoughts:

This is a good book and I enjoyed reading it over the hectic holiday period. I found much in the character of Paige Harlow that I could relate to. Having come from a Christian background myself I could understand her conflicted feelings around the realisation that she is homosexual.

I liked that the conflict with this was not simply tied up in pretty pink ribbons and completely resolved. It made the story more believable for me, that whilst Paige’s father was able to come to an uneasy acceptance of her orientation, her mother is stated to ‘need more time.’

The character of Alyssa Torres was a little less well rounded than Paige, and I found I was left with a few too many unanswered questions about her at the end of the book. Some of her actions were confusing and I wasn’t able to resolve them completely, but that was not enough of an irritation to stop me from finishing the story.

I liked the medical challenge later in the book, and felt that it was well handled by the author. I also liked that Paige was able to turn to her Christian faith for strength during that difficult challenge.

Some of the side plot conflicts were too easily resolved for my liking. For instance there was  a run in with another lesbian character in the dorms, which was resolved by Paige and Alyssa moving into their own house off campus with the conflict never being raised again, even though the protagonists had further contact with that character throughout the story.

Overall, this was an enjoyable read, with just a few niggles which left me wanting at the end. I am happy to recommend it, however.

Author Q.C. Masters’ website: http://qcmasters.com/the-path-not-chosen.html

Publisher: Shadoe Publishing: http://www.shadoepublishing.com/

Disclaimer: I was forwarded a copy of this book for review from the publisher Shadoe Publishing at the request of Author Q.C Masters. No monetary payment was made for a favourable review.

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in books, Contemporary, Lesfic, my reviews, Reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

