Scarlet Tie Books and Meg Leigh

Some of my regular readers may know that I have recently teamed up with my personal friend and fellow author, Zathyn Priest, to start up a small press under the name Scarlet Tie Books.

This is a personal venture on our behalf and has also attracted the attention of a small group of authors who would like to be associated with the press. I am taking the role of Submissions editor for the press and even though there has been no official announcement relating to the launch of Scarlet Tie Books as yet, there seems to be a little confusion surrounding it. Zathyn has posted about this on his blog, and I thought that I would do the same here just to make it clear what my involvement is.

I am first and foremost, a lover of GLBT fiction in any form. I love to read it, and I love to write it. I’m also a published author with titles released with Torquere Press, Love You Devine Erotica, and Sapphic Planet. Some of my backlist of books are now self published through smashwords.com as well.

I’ve been a writer since I learned how to hold a pencil and form scratchy letters in a blue lined exercise book in school. I’ve been a story teller for longer than that, as I hail from that proud Australian tradition of “Yarn Spinning” which I learned at my grandfather’s fireside as a young child.

My editing credits are not huge, and I won’t try to gild them or make them more important than they are. I’ve had a fair bit of experience of the editing process as an author, and slightly less so as an editor, but I have proof-read and edited for friends, and for strangers.

Scarlet Tie Books is my first gig as a submissions editor, but we all have to start somewhere. I’ve done my share of ‘pushing a broom’ as a beta reader and now I am ready to get my teeth into a more challenging role. I’m grateful to Zachary Sexton for having enough faith in my skills to give me my first big break.

I don’t charge a fee for my editing services. I don’t even draw a pay check for them yet. I am doing this for the love of good fiction and for the experience.  I can promise my authors that I will do my utmost to make their writing shine.

It’s as simple as this: I love good stories, and I love bringing out the best in them.

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in Meg Leigh, Scarlet tie books and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

