Well…

It is not often that computers and software get the better of me. I can say that, without boasting or blowing my own trumpet, because in general, I can nut out most problems with software, and I can either nut out, or seek the right help to solve problems with hardware.

The past couple of days, though, I have to say I have met my match. It’s not easy to admit it. I have great difficulty, actually, in admitting that I am licked by this particular program, but there it is.

A few days ago, I took advantage of the very generous offer from DAZ 3D who are currently giving away their latest software package, DAZ Studio 4 completely gratis. I was excited and einvisioned all the wonderful 3D artworks I would be able to create using this lovely, shiny, absolutely stunning full version interface of the program.

I never suspected for a moment that within three days, I would be tearing out my hair, and sitting at my computer very close to tears of absolute despair and frustration, but that is exactly what has happened.

I simply. Cannot. Get the bloody thing to work for me in the way it is supposed to!

I can’t get DAZ studio 3.1 to work either. I’ve done everything short of hanging upside down from a sky hook 200 metres in the air, laptop in hand, and then, slowly and deliberately letting the laptop go.

I am very close to doing that, but I figure I will quit now, while I still have some hair, and a laptop left.

In all fairness, I did manage to create one, very impressive piece of artwork with the program and this is it.

This image was created following a tutorial within the program and using presets to create it, so it was pretty much paint by numbers. When using the program with the default presets, and with internally purchased content, it is all deceptively easy, but when I started downloading ‘external’ content and trying to use that, that’s when it came unglued for me. Sadly, I don’t think it is something I am going to master anytime soon.

Anyone else who wants to try this, just go to DAZ 3D and download the software.

I hope you have more luck with it than I have.

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in blogging, Meg Leigh, my reviews, Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Well…

  1. Pingback: Big Girl Panties | Meg Leigh

Leave a Reply

