Another Year…

Vector image of two human figures with hands i...

Image via Wikipedia

On November 4th 2006 my partner, Sandra and I made a commitment to ‘Go the journey’ together.  At a small gathering of family and friends, we promised each other that we would stick together through good and bad, wealth and lack, and all of the things that couples promise to do when they marry.

The only real difference was that our day was a commitment, rather than a marriage–we can’t marry legally in our country at this time, but that is really the only difference. The love, the commitment, the joy were all the same as they would be for any couple on such a day.

I don’t think either of us believed that there could be any bad in our lives at that time, but of course, there has been. There’s been sickness, there have been arguments, there have been misunderstandings, losses, and all the things that a life can bring to people who live together, but, so far, we’ve ‘stayed the journey.’

This year, 2010 has been particularly difficult. I’ve had challenges to my health, I’ve seen the death of a beautiful young friend by suicide… I’ve battled with depression and anxiety, I’ve had a terminal case of writers block, right when I was about to finish a book.

Yet Sandra has stood by me through all of that. I know I have not been easy to live with. I know it would have been much easier, for her to give up and walk away, but she hasn’t and for that, I am more grateful than I can begin to express.

I’m finally starting to feel more of an equilibrium in my life, but it’s been a difficult slog this year.

I’m hoping that 2011 will be better. Things can only get better from here, right?

I have to believe that.

To my darling Sandra, I know you’re gonna hate the ‘chick flick’ stuff, but I’m gonna say it anyway.

I love you and thanks for everything!

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another Year…

  1. Jenn says:

    Happy anniversary!

  2. Angie says:

    Congrats, and Happy Anniversary! {{}}

    Angie

Leave a Reply

