iPad is love!

I am still loving the iPad and finding different apps that can be used to do whatever I want/need to do on the net with it. Last night, I even did some writing in it, using an app I found called mywritingnook which has a simple, uncluttered interface which is quick and easy to use. Admittedly, I only wrote a couple hundred words, but I out that down to the lateness of the hour and my tiredness more than any difficulties with the actual tools.

Today, I am trying out the free wordpress app and testing it to see how it goes. It’s quick and easy to download and synch onto the iPad and seems to work just fine. Mind you, it is an editing/writing tool more than for reading blogs so you won’t get to see your blogs in all their shiny glory. It also doesn’t seem to want to download my blog’s themes so I am working in a plain white background here rather than a blog template, but that is only a small issue.

Assuming this posts and winds up in the. Blog section rather than the pages section then I will consider it a worthwhile tool. So… Here I go to post and see how it handles.

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in blogging, freeware, Meg Leigh and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to iPad is love!

  1. Angie says:

    How does the writing-on-an-iPad thing work? Do you plug a keyboard into it? Or does it sort of make a keyboard on the screen? I touch-type and can’t imagine the latter working well for me; I can’t type if I can’t feel the keys under my fingers to keep myself from drifting. 😛

    I’ll admit one of the things preventing me from having any interest in an iPad, aside from the Apple Goes Evil With Pricing thing, is the lack of a keyboard.

    Angie

    • megleigh says:

      The iPad has an onscreen keyboard which pops up whenever you touch an input field on the screen and I was surprised at how readily I took to using it. I touch type as well usually, but find this interface easy to use.

      Apple also sells a docking keyboard which you can plug into the iPad, but the price is prohibitive for me.

      However, it is also bluetooth enabled and I am told it will work with any bluetooth keyboard. I have yet to try that out but it could be a viable alternative. I will probably test it with someone else’s kb first to see how well the Bluetooth thing works.

    • megleigh says:

      Oh, I forgot to mention that you should just try one. I was disinterested in iPad for much the same reason as you, re the kb thing, until I actually had a chance to play with one and was surprised at the ease of use with the onscreen kb.

      Beware though, as I said in a previous post, the damn things are impregnated with some substance which makes you instantly *want* upon touching them… :p

  2. Angie says:

    the damn things are impregnated with some substance which makes you instantly *want* upon touching them… :p

    LOL! I’ll be duly careful, thanks. 😀

    Angie

Leave a Reply

