Fondest Childhood Memory

mindbump suggested by Life in Eureka Springs

“Describe your fondest childhood memory and how it has shaped who you are today.”

I would have to say that my fondest childhood memory is of a trip I took with my dad to visit my grandparents. For some reason,  I was the only one who went along. Mum and my sisters stayed at home that time.

Anyway, I recall being roused from my sleep while it was still dark and my dad carrying me, bundled in a blanket, to the car and laying me down across the back seat. He told me to go back to sleep, which I did.

I slept until we were well on the way to Nanna and Pop’s place, only waking when the sun started to rise. I remember how magical it all seemed to my eight year old eyes. Sun flashing through the trees and almost seeming to roll along the ground beside the car.

I saw some horses in amongst the trees too and asked Dad if he thought they were brumbies (wild horses).

Dad didn’t think that they were. He said one or two of them had shoulder brands, so they probably belonged to one of the farms at the side of the road. I didn’t mind either way. It was just wonderful to see them!

Dad had packed food for us to share for breakfast. A thermos with hot tea for him, a small bottle of fruit flavored cordial for me and some “Jatz” crackers with cheese and sliced tomato. He stopped the car at a rest bay and we ate breakfast in the early dawn light.

It’s a wonderful memory of a special time spent with my dad and I will always treasure it.

Do you have any fond memories you’d like to share?

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in blogging, Meg Leigh, mindbump musings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

