Review: Bastards and Pretty Boys by K Z Snow

Bastards and Pretty Boys Bastards and Pretty Boys by K.Z. Snow

My rating: 4 of 5 stars
This book has been added to my best of 2010 list. I know I tend to rate nearly everything I read as four stars, and that might seem odd, but maybe it is just that I know how to pick a good book. 😉

This book certainly fell into the good book category. I enjoyed every moment of it, and found it very difficult to put down. I would read it while brushing my teeth and getting ready for bed, and then read all the way to the bedroom, and read more IN bed and only reluctantly turn off my eReader to go to sleep. I carried it with me to the doctors office and was almost annoyed when he called my name and interrupted my reading! LOL.

I liked the characters of Booker and Charlie and the villains were people I loved to hate. *g*

The story involves Charlie, a not long divorced and out gay man who’s in a relationship with Kevin, which is supposed to be an open relationship. It’s not a very exciting one, at least from Charlie’s POV. He feels as though the whole thing just doesn’t fit quite right, and when Kevin admits that he’s been sleeping with others, that just seems to ring the death knell. Add to that, the fact that Charlie has just bought a cottage on the banks of a lake to help him overcome his fear of water. He is fascinated by the handsome male neighbor and things start to get even more interesting.

Booker, (said handsome neighbor) is a man with a past, but he’s working hard to put it behind him when he meets Charlie. Sparks of attraction are immediate, and it doesn’t take long at all for those sparks to ignite into flames, but in saying that, I need to add that the story never seemed rushed, and the conclusions reached were paced well and neither dragged, nor hurried the pace of the story.

I highly recommend this one!

View all my reviews >>

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in books, four stars, my reviews, Reviews, romance and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Review: Bastards and Pretty Boys by K Z Snow

  1. K. Z. Snow says:

    Hi, Meg!

    Thanks so much for reading and posting about B&PB. It’s always gratifying to know that a fellow author liked one of my books.

    Hope the writing’s going well. I’m being seduced by the spring weather and having trouble keeping my butt in front of the computer! 😉

    Nice to meet you!

    KZ

  2. megleigh says:

    Hi K.Z.

    Thanks for dropping by! I know what you mean about being seduced by the weather. For us, it is the tail end of Summer and when it is sunny, I find it hard to keep motivated to work. Today is a dull, cloudy day and it’s raining, so now I will probably be seduced by the Wii instead. Amazing how we writers can always find something to lure us away from work! LOL!

    Pleased to meet you, too.

    Meg

Leave a Reply

