Busy Days

I’ve had a couple of very busy days and have been too pooped to write, either my WIP or anything for my blog.

I finally got in to see the Rheumatologist, yesterday after almost a year of waiting. Busy man.

Turns out he is not just a Rheumatologist, but a Physician and associate professor of Rheumatology with one of the big Universities here. Should I feel privileged? Actually, he turned out to be a very pleasant chap to talk to, good sense of humour, knows how to establish a rapport quickly, and if his approach to things is a little bit ‘tutorish’ occasionally, I guess that can be forgiven. I felt a bit foolish when he had to keep reminding me to “shut. the. door.” of his office.

It’s not that I am stupid, I was just somewhat distracted because he spent a good amount of the time I saw him in educating me as to why he didn’t think I have spondyloarthropathy and then sent me to get xrays done, and when I came back spent another goodly proportion of time explaining why he thinks I have some other congenital (born with it) defect, complete with showing me the x-rays, meticulously explaining to me (in his best tutor voice) about the shape of my neck, the state of the bones in my neck etc and how these quite possibly pointed to his theory being the correct one…

And then, he told me that he needs to send me for an MRI because it’s the ‘most sensitive way’ to diagnose and differentiate between the two different conditions. I think he was a bit disappointed because he’d hoped that taking the x-rays he’d ordered would be more conclusive. He wanted to give me an answer on the day and was not able to deliver…

Forget the fact that when I went in there, I thought I already had an answer.

So here we go again, more tests. More investigations and by golly, I hope, this time, more conclusive results! Not that I really want to have either of the two possible conditions, mind you. *sigh* I just want to live my life in peace. Is that so much to ask for?

Today, I went to the dentist to have the permanent filling for the root canal treatment done. The dentist is still not convinced this tooth with survive as it is, though and is planning to crown it in a few weeks.

So, I’m tired and not getting much writing done, but hopefully, accomplishing other things that will be worth while.

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in blogging, Meg Leigh and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

