Melbourne Cup and an Anniversary

So yesterday was Melbourne Cup Day in Australia, the day when all Australia stops to watch a horse race. It is a day of excitement and colour with people dressing up, going to the races and cup luncheons all across the nation. Many people, particularly in Melbourne have the day off work for this race, and those who have to work tend to have “Cup Parties” in their work place. It is a day when even those who usually have little or no interest in the sport of horse racing (myself included) throw off restraint to ‘have a flutter’ (make a bet) on the cup.

Every year, I spend the grand sum of $10 on bets for the Melbourne Cup. Most years, and this year was no exception, I ‘do my dough,’ (lose my money). But for me, it is not about winning. I just like to have some money down on a horse or two so I can cheer them on in the race.

My partner chooses a horse, too, but she doesn’t bet on the race, finding it just as satisfying to cheer for her horse without the added incentive of a possible net gain.

My horses didn’t come anywhere in the placings, in fact, I don’t recall hearing their names mentioned in the front runners–oh actually, yes, one of them ran in third place for most of the running, but dropped back to 5th or 6th at the finish. Oh well, better luck next year.

The horse that won is named Shocking which gave me a chuckle at the end of the race when the horses crossed the finish line and the caller said “It’s Shocking to win the Melbourne Cup!” I suppose it would come as a shock, and I think it did, for the horse’s owner and connections and especially for the jockey as this was the first time he has ever ridden the winner of the Melbourne Cup.

It was a great day, but the adrenaline rush went to my head and I spent most of the afternoon lying in bed recovering. LOL such are the hazards of having a chronic illness and getting too excited.

Today, November 4th is the 3rd anniversary of the day Sandra and I committed ourselves to love and care for each other. That was a wonderful day, too and has many happy memories for us both.

As Sandra is in the midst of studying for exams at present, our celebrations have been low key today. We had cheese and crackers (a luxury for us) for lunch and tonight we are going to buy Chinese take-away (take out) for dinner.

We may do something a little more celebratory after Uni has finished for the year. Just don’t know as yet, what that will be.

Well, that’s about all I have for today.

Love and Light,
Meg

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

