X-Posted: Getting into Fitness

I really must apologize to those of you who have me listed on your friend lists under multiple accounts. You will get to see this post more than once.

I seriously need to decide whether or not to keep all these LJ, wordpress, dreamspinner, xanga, yada yada lists or not. The problem is that many of them are paid accounts, and one in particular is a lifetime membership for which I paid quite a good sum of money so I don’t want to abandon it.

You’re very welcome to defriend whichever of the LJ accounts you want to if you don’t want to get double posts. I won’t be offended! 🙂

Anyway, I guess you’ve noticed that I have been pretty quiet recently, and there are a couple of reasons for that.

1. I took a hiatus from writing, which officially ends today (Aug 15th)

2. I’ve been taking time out from blogging as well

3. I’ve been getting myself settled into a new fitness regime.

Because I have a medical condition which affects my mobility, I have been trying, for some time to find some way of getting some exercise whilst, at the same time, being close enough to home in order to collapse into a chair and pass out if I need to.

Well, that need seems to be being met at present by the Nintendo Wii Console, Wii Balance board and a combination of two “exer-gaming” programs.

I started off just using the Wii Balance Board and Wii Fit around about the end of July, just after I got back from my little trip to Adelaide. If you think that Exer-gaming is too tame, or doesn’t offer you a real work out, I am here to tell you, it sure as hell does–well, it does if you push it, and yourself and really try to get maximum benefit from it.

Exercise is supposed to be beneficial, only if it makes you pant and sweat (swear, too) at least, that’s what I have been led to believe.

Wii fit has the ability, if I self motivate, to make me pant, sweat and swear.

The rhythm boxing, and step aerobics are my two favourites, but I also enjoy the muscle training, balance games, and yoga. I can see some results already, having lost 1kg ( about 4.5 pounds) since starting and it may actually be more, because I don’t weigh in until tomorrow.

I can feel improvements in my balance and today, for the first time, I scored “Perfect Rhythm” on Wii Step Basic.

After using the Wii Fit alone for a week or so, I was starting to feel like I needed more of a challenge, so yesterday, I started the EA Sports Active 30 Day challenge.

Okay, this exer-game is seriously kicking my ass! Today was only day two, and the intensity has stepped up a little since I tried it out, yesterday. Thank God, tomorrow is a rest day! LOL!

EA Sports Active gives you a great full body workout inlcuding using a resistance band for arm exercises, the Wii balance board if you have one for boxing and kick boxing exercises and it sets you a routine of interval training so you do a combination of cardio, strength and so on. It’s designed so that you don’t work on one part of the body to the exclusion of all others.

I love the boxing exercises and the inline skating exercises on EA Sports Active.

I’d recommend Wii, Wii Balance Board, Wii Fit and EA Sports Active to anyone, but if you’re a shut in, or like me, you have disabilities that make you reluctant to get out and try the gym…this could be a good option for you!

This weekend, I am hoping to buy “My Fitness Coach” for the Wii and I will let you know what I think of it!

So that’s why I have been a little bit incommunicado. I am getting back into it now.

Just because I’m a writer and have disabilities, is no reason for me to be a couch potato!

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to X-Posted: Getting into Fitness

  1. Pingback: Fitness Blogger » Blog Archive » X-Posted: Getting into Fitness « Incurable Urge to Write

Leave a Reply

