The Writer’s Block Thing

I’ve been looking around on the internet in search of solutions to writers block, because really I need to get moving again or I fear I am going to let my writing muscles atrophy and then coming back will be even more painful than if I had tried even a little creative physio therapy to keep things moving.

So, some things I found. From the blog “Go Write Now!” comes the tip to just write 300 words a day. That might work, but I might even lower the bar at first, to 100 words a day, yes, I really feel like it’s that bad right now.

I am thinking about buying this audio download created by author Holly Lisle, as a taster to see if I want to invest the $59.95 she asks for her beating writer’s block audio series… Lot of money, but then medicine when one is terminally ill (as my muse seems to be) is rarely cheap, right? Has anyone done these workshops and would recommend them?

Holly Lisle also had some interesting thoughts on the types of Writer’s Block that a writer can suffer from and I can see that my problem is two-fold–maybe three fold…

These are two of the four types of block Holly describes on her web-store

Complete Block, where the writer simply cannot put words on paper. Though sometimes it happens for no apparent reason, this tends to be the sort of block that hits when the writer’s life has gone through a huge shock—death of a loved one; loss of a job; a major illness; a massive financial crisis; and on, and on. The things life can throw at us are endless, and the results on a writer’s work can be devastating.

Inner Critic Block, where the writer is still writing, but hates every word that lands on the page, and ends up deleting everything sooner or later, moving from project to project without finishing anything.

I think I am definitely suffering from those two in combination. Look at the early part of this year for instance. I lost a dear friend to cancer, Sandra’s dad died of cancer, I got sick for quite some time with anemia and then the allergy season from hell hit me. All of those would add up to give someone “Complete Block

Inner Critic Block I think is the bane of most writers’ existence I have heard many writers who talk about being their own worst critic and how that can make them not want to write because they think nothing they do is any good.

The third reason I think that I am blocked comes down to performance anxiety. I think this also links into the inner critic problem. I feel like I am under pressure to do well. I don’t think anyone is externally pressuring me, although sometimes I like to think that it is coming from external sources, but I really think it’s coming more from me.

It’s something I need to work through and get past. I need to make writing fun again, somehow. I need to take the ‘need to perform’ aspect out of it, and just do it for me. Do it for the sheer joy of it. Do it for FUN first and worry about the technicalities and publishing later. I think I might be onto something here.

If anyone knows anything about Holly’s audio workshops, particularly from personal experience, please let me know!

About megleigh

When not busy writing, Meg Leigh spends her time tending to the most pampered flock of chickens on Australia’s east coast. She would really like to have dragons, but has settled for chickens because they come pretty close. If you need proof of this, try offering a flock of chickens raw meat! (Meg would like to advise she accepts no liability for loss of fingers!) Meg also enjoys reading, keeping fit with her bunch of madcap mates at the local park, and spending time with her adult offspring whenever their schedules allow.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

